Common Time 2019

H. Bramston's (Trant's)

Mr Stephen Rich

House Master:
Mr Stephen Rich  sdr@wincoll.ac.uk

Assistant Housemaster:
Mr Alexander Graham

Ms Sue Strang

(01962) 621 308
(01962) 621 318

St Michael's Road
SO23 9JE

House Letter: H

Trant's Internal Trant's Library Trant's room

Bramston's is one of the four boarding houses in the Commoner Block of 6.5 acres purchased in the 1860s by Headmaster Ridding (1867-1884), known as the School's Second Founder. It sits on St Michael's Road and adjoins Sergeant's.

Founded by The Revd John Trant Bramston, the first Housemaster (1869-1908), it is formally known as Bramston's but informally known as Trant's, after its founder. It accommodates 60 boys in a house that boasts its own squash court and large recreation room with both snooker and pool tables.

Mr Rich read modern languages at Durham and has taught Russian and French at Winchester since 2009. He coaches soccer and is master-in-charge of the Slavonic Society. Before entering teaching, he worked as a commodities buyer in China, Finland and Yorkshire.

He is married to Olga, who is the College's Russian language assistant, and they have three children and an attention-seeking Yorkshire terrier. He is a long-suffering supporter of Luton Town FC; his other interests include walking, cycling, literature, and chess.